I heart Seattle

Sunday 31 March, 10am

When I die and they cut me open, they’re gonna find 30 March 2013 engraved on my heart!

Excuse the slightly morbid sentiment, I’m a little bit hung over from the bad beer they served at Neumos last night. Dying and all that aside, I’m still buzzing with what a mind-blowing experience yesterday was!!! I think that might be a hangover I will never get rid of – and I wouldn’t want to!

I keep going though it in my head and there’s no chance on earth I’ll be able to put my feelings into words. So it’ll have to be an account of what happened rather than what it did to me. If I would try to write down what I’m feeling I’d write a series of books and still not come to the point.

So, what happened … First I got to meet up with Chad, Justine and Paul at the Bainbridge ferry. The weather was so gorgeous; the ferry came in on a clear backdrop of the (Olympic?) mountains – you just would have to see that. There’s no way to describe that view!

Well, I had expected just Chad coming off the boat, so when Justine and Paul turned up as well, I got my first happy buzz of the day. Not that I wouldn’t have been happy with just Chadley πŸ˜‰ but with that crowd it’s definitely ‘the more the merrier’. I love them; I really do. Whatever stroke of fate connected me to what I still refer to as the ‘Bainbridge lot’ – I know, it’s geographically incorrect – the friendship angels were being really good to me.

So, we walked to the Seattle Center, stopping off at Pike Place Market, where Chad dragged us into a really cool comic book shop (that solved the question of what presents to bring home). After eating burgers and salad (I never thought I’d crave lettuce so much), Chad and I made our way over to the EMP museum to have a look at the Nirvana exhibition. We got in for free and Chad didn’t even have to play the ‘Don’t you know who I am’ card … Haha! … On a side note, he wouldn’t have – just to clear that up.

I don’t wanna go into too much detail at this point; it was fun! I love hearing all those stories about ‘back then’ and, of course, Chad’s got a few of them. Needless to say it was interesting and I sucked it all in like a fan girl sponge. What a lovely and funny guy! And, Chad, if you read this, thank you so much for doing that for me. I’m sure it made you cringe a lot looking at your own pictures, but it was an experience I’ll never forget. You made a fan girl very happy! 1,000 points for your good kharma bank. You rock! \m/

Chad Channing and me
Chadley, my music guide for the day – feeling the love buzz!

The EMP is a really cool museum. There are quite a few super interesting exhibitions, not only about Nirvana but also Jimi Hendrix (of course) and leather jackets and there’s a massive ‘statue’ made off countless instruments as the centre piece of the building. On the top level they have an interactive section where you can play instruments or sing or mix some music. We played around with the bass and even invited a guy to jam with us (well, with Chad – I was just watching) on drums. Super cool toy. You can get your band over there and just jam together while people walk by. How’s that for a first gig? πŸ˜‰ Chad also remixed Eurythmix’ ‘Sweet Dreams’ – a highly professional job, of course πŸ˜‰

EMP museum in Seattle

Inside the EMP museum in Seattle

Chad mixing at the EMP museum in Seattle
Chad mixing hot tunes at the EMP museum

Afterwards we met up with Paulstine again, walked through Downtown (passing the disgusting but highly original gum wall) and had a really great chat in an Irish pub. Goodness, my heart is beating faster when I think of these guys. I think I’m falling in love with them πŸ™‚ After more talking and bonding over sushi and cocktails, Dan arrived and it was time for the Mudhoney gig.

Pike Place Market

Seattle gum wall

Seattle gum wall

Chad and Paul
Gummy walls and yummy chaps πŸ™‚

I waved Chaulstine goodbye and off we were to Neumos on Capitol Hill for an insane show! The two supporting bands were proper ‘Seattle’ and for the first time I got the feeling I was there, over 20 years ago, in some dingy club, seeing great local bands. I even got to say hello to Mark Arm who happened to stand in front of us, watching the first band. Later I bumped into Matt Lukin who recognised me from Facebook. The evening got better and better. When Mudhoney came on stage, I was nicely drunk and the party hit the roof. They played their whole new record, a fucking awesome album!!! That band is so bloody tight, I don’t think they could do anything to bore me. Every song just hits you right in the head. The second part of the show brought up all the old hits; people were crowd surfing (without being told off by security), the atmosphere was explosive and I was right in the middle of it. The last couple of songs I even got to see from the first row – oh my fucking god! What an insanely great band! I hope I’ll get to see them again tomorrow when they play a show in a record store. But if not, there’s still the seven shows in Europe that I got lined up this Summer! Who needs a beach holiday when you can see this band?! Yay!!!

Neumos Seattle

Neumos Seattle

Mudhoney at Neumos Seattle
Good times!
Comet Tavern Seattle
One more for the road at the Comet Tavern

So, Marie is in fan girl heaven. Seattle turned out so much more than I dreamed of – and I wouldn’t have thought my dreams could be improved.

Thank you, Chad! Thank you, Mudhoney! Thank you, Seattle!!!

Leave a Reply

